Welcome to my blog. This has been several years in the making, and after several premature starts, I finally have a grasp on the direction and intention of going through with this. More or less, it’s to be an avenue of expression for myself, a way to organize my thoughts about what’s going on in my life and in my brain. Hopefully it will also allow for interaction with both people I know and do not know, and possibly make some new friends in the process.

 So on to the title … why “emergent Orthodox?”

“emergent” refers to a lot of things. The primary meaning goes back to the concept of the emerging church, the movement within Christianity that is focused on living out their faith in a postmodern society. I find the emerging church fascinating, and my own ecumenical goals include reaching out to those who also consider themselves emergent, albeit in Protestant forms of spirituality. “Orthodox” refers to my faith — that of the Eastern Orthodox Church. I came to Orthodoxy after several years of studying the historical church and a long drought of spirituality.  My background and my interests help me be a bridge between the emergent Protestant movement and Eastern Orthodoxy, bringing a better understanding of the ancient faith of the Church to postmodern Christians, while helping my own tradition move into the 21st century. Hence the “small e” emergent and “Big O” Orthodox.

As for a little more about myself, I will defer to the questionnaire developed by Bernard Pivot, and revised by James Lipton of “Inside the Actor’s Studio.”

What is your favorite word?
Knowledge.

What is your least favorite word?
Mistake.

What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally?
Being in nature.

What turns you off?
Incompetence.

What is your favorite curse word?
Shit.

What sound or noise do you love?
Water.

What sound or noise do you hate?
Cash registers and ringing phones.

What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?
Chef. It was either seminary or culinary school …

What profession would you not like to do?
Anything involving children.

If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates?
Well done, good and faithful servant.

